The New Boob Tube AKA Adventures in Social Media Marketing.

The adventure continues. This week I was able to learn more about my favorite platform. YouTube is considered the second largest search engine online, next to Google. I have wasted many an hour on YouTube as one video leads to another.

“Top 5 Tips for your YouTube Channel!”  (Alexander, 2014)

Ultimately you create a YouTube channel for 3 purposes.

  • Share Content.
  • Build a Community.
  • Make Money.

I’ve had a YouTube channel for a long time. It is where all my digital video goes. I have described it as a portal to the work of Hired Gun Productions.

BenyouTube
(Babchishin)

A lot of what was discussed I already knew, but there was a few good ideas. For example, it was suggested that you play around with keywords, using different descriptions on YouTube than on your website. I thought that was interesting. And I now know a lot about Keywords! I also found out about a new keyword tool, Wordstream. Search Engine Optimization (SEO) is also  important and YouTube is the only search engine that still recognizes metadata, so your tags are crucial for success.

Something I had never considered was linking common videos, so one leads into another. Then there is more opportunity for the viewer to continue watching and because of this, there is a better chance that they will return. Makes sense, so, I made a playlist for my “Father Time Series.” If you chose to watch, please note  the series contains adult themes and language.

Bensplaylist

(Babchishin)

Another suggestion is that you use an intro video. All I have is a demo. This will have to do right now till I can create something that describes who I am and what I do. Once again, be forewarned the demo contains adult themes and language.

(Babchishin, Ben Babchishin)

Finally, it was suggested that you subscribe to other YouTube channels, perhaps a competitor and watch for innovation. There is always something you can learn from others.

Short and sweet this week, next week will be a bit more intense as we move through the inner workings of LinkedIn.

Till next week!

 

Bibliography

Alexander, A. (2014, 10 7). Top 5 tips for YouTube Channel. Retrieved 2017, from Lynda: http://www.lynda.com

Babchishin, B. (n.d.). Ben Babchishin. Retrieved October 20, 2017, from YouTube: https://youtu.be/6jjdWMcqu2g

Babchishin, B. (n.d.). Ben’s YouTube Channel. Retrieved from YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBD4dNtuSF2x2YanK7DOkVw?view_as=subscriber

Babchishin, B. (2017, October 20). Hired Gun Productions is.. Edmonton, Alberta, Canada: Ripl.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

