“link-age: the action of linking or the state of being linked,” AKA Adventures in Social Media Marketing!

LinkedIn1

(Babchishin, 2009)

Guess what this week’s topic was?  Yup, we explored LinkedIn. I have been on LinkedIn since 2009.  I’ve used  almost all social media platforms at one time or another,  I have just never used any of them well.

The actual title of this lesson is, “LinkedIn Profiles for Social Business Success!”(Verdonck, 2017)

I have known for a while, that LinkedIn is widely thought of as a B2B (Business to Business) platform. I have realized that this is probably the best social site for me and my business.

Things to remember when setting up your LinkedIn page are:

-Quantity of connections. It’s true, the more the merrier.

-Quality of connections. Unless the connection is directly related to what you do they might not be the right choice as a connection.

-Participation, you get what you put in. We have heard this before; Social Media Marketing is a two way conversation.

Alright, let’s build it. An interesting fact is that 90% of LinkedIn visitors only go to sites with a picture. This is a tough one for me, the pic needs to be professional and ooze authority. I get that, but I also need to represent my artistic side, it is how I define myself. So with that said, I need your help in deciding which photo I should use for my LinkedIn profile. Below are 3, let me know which one you think would work.

  1. Image may contain: 1 person, beard, eyeglasses and closeup

 

2.  Image may contain: 1 person, eyeglasses and beard

3. Image may contain: 1 person

Next up is the headline. It is important to remember that everything on your LinkedIn profile is searchable. So what does that mean? Yup, your right, you need to make sure you are using the right Keywords.  First up, you need to tell them who you are and what you do. Do some corporate branding or list accomplishments like perhaps you have written a book. And add something personal. Our instructor uses “Chocoholic” and he says “You will be surprised by how often that one starts a conversation.” (Verdonck, 2017)

So in a nutshell:

-Why you.

-Explain what you do.

-Share what you can do for them.

-Use something personal, perhaps thought provoking or a conversation starter. Soon as you have something in common with your connection, the relationship grows. I am still working on mine. For the personal element I thought of “Music Lover-I will judge you by what you listen to!”  Maybe that is a bit harsh?

It is important you fill out every aspect of the LinkedIn Profile. Where are you located, what industry are you in, how do they contact you; email, telephone, DM. Include social media info. Add awards, certifications, or any patents you have. Include projects and list the relevant members of these projects. Talk about any courses you might have taken, volunteer work and populate your sight with rich media. Perhaps you write an article, this gets you noticed. Include photos and video that further your story.  Remember if you share from someone else, make sure to add your own context.  Once you are in your profile the options are everywhere.

I took the opportunity to share a video I did for the Neurosurgery Kids Fund. It was a fund raiser, and I have doctors, nurses and sick kids doing a flash mob/Lip Sync. It was so endearing it opened everybody up to the cause. I am also proud to say, it was such a feel good piece it ended up on Ellen DeGeneres YouTube channel.

https://vimeo.com/109174008

 

(Babchishin, Ben Babchishin)

Next are the final two elements, perhaps the most important parts of the LinkedIn profile. Our instructor asked “What is the element that people screw up, the most?” It’s the summary. You have 2000 characters and need to make them count. You start with your corporate plan and company overview. Be specific about what you do but leave out the details that will come in the experience segment. Explain what you want people to do and tell them what you don’t do.

I am struggling with this because I really like my summary and don’t want to change it. It is a problem with writers; we fall in love with our own words.

 

 

LnkedIn2

(Babchishin, 2009)

I know, I know, I will revise; it doesn’t reflect anything I have been talking about.  It has been  quite an eye opener; I have been on LinkedIn for a long time but hadn’t maximized its power. As I move forward in my social media journey, I will definitely come back and tell you all about what has worked for me and what hasn’t.

The other really crucial part of your profile is your resume.  Your resume should include one or two paragraphs about your company, explain what you do, and why people should get in touch with you. Share your responsibility and your achievements. Talk about your results. Remember Keywords.

We are winding down, but there are a few more things to mention. Everything is about you becoming an expert, a credible source that people want to connect with and who they trust. You might want to consider offering free tips. You can do this in an article. We talked about media rich content. Your articles could be about your area of expertise. Concentrate on your title, use specifics and be concise; you only have 300-500 words. If it is impressive, LinkedIn will share it. Oh and remember, be conversational.

Bert Verdonck the instructor really likes discussion groups; he calls them “the heat of engagement!” (Verdonck, 2017) They become opportunities to answer questions, and build connections.

I started this lesson just a few days ago, and I am surprised by the amount of tweaks I have done to my profile. I added classes, experience, projects, location, contact info and I am still working on my summary and resume.

As I have said before, it is always important to get feedback, so please let me know what you think of this week’s blog and comment on my LinkedIn profile. Feel free to connect.

Next up is “Instagram for Business.” I enjoy Instagram but don’t have a clue how to make it work.

instagram

Till next Week!

 

 

 

Babchishin, B. (n.d.). Ben Babchishin. Retrieved from Vimeo: https://vimeo.com/home/myvideos/page:1/sort:date/format:video

Babchishin, B. (2009). Ben Babchishin. Retrieved 2017, from LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/ben-babchishin-dgc-27334815/

Verdonck, B. (2017, 01 30). Linkedin Profiles for Social Business success. Retrieved 10 26, 2017, from Lynda.com: https://www.lynda.com/LinkedIn-tutorials/LinkedIn-Profiles-Social-Business-Success/512777-2.html

 

2 thoughts on ““link-age: the action of linking or the state of being linked,” AKA Adventures in Social Media Marketing!

Leave a Reply

